What are the different types of python?

The python family has 26 members, and 12 of these are considered true pythons. Each species has a common ancestor and so looks and behaves similarly, but each has adapted to a specific niche in a different environment. The Burmese python and the African rock python are very similar in appearance but are found on different continents.

The true python species are

  • Angolan python
  • Burmese python
  • Blood python
  • Bornean python
  • Indian python
  • Myanmar short-tailed python
  • North African rock python
  • Reticulated python
  • Royal python
  • South African rock python
  • Sumatran python
  • Timor python

Pythons don’t have venom as they constrict their prey, and unlike their close boa relatives they lay eggs rather than giving birth to live young. They incubate their 20 to 100 eggs by curling around them and shivering to keep them warm until they hatch after around 90 days.

 Get closer to the animal kingdom every month with World of Animals for only £3.99, or get a great deal by subscribing online today.

Image from www.flickr.com/photos/nasmac/531138641